The five pillars of Islam 2 ( Zakat, Fasting and Pilgrimage )

Table of Contents

The third pillar of Islam:

There are Kids, who learn Arabic and the Holy Quran online, They  should know something about the third pillar of Islam. It  is to pay zakat. Online teachers teach their students about it. They learn  that Zakat is the money a Muslim pays to help and support the poor and needy Muslims, Sometimes the non-Muslim fellow citizens of a Muslim’s country. Kids, learn Arabic and the Holy Quran online. They  should learn how to help the poor and the needy. There are two kinds of zakat. They are  zakat ul-fitr and the annual zakat. Islam asks every Muslim of every age to pay zakat ul-fitr. They must pay it before the dawn of the first day of Shawwal, i.e. the day of Eid Ul Fitr. Muslims pay the annual zakat  at the end of every year. The kids in online courses for Arabic and Quran learn that there are eight categories of people who deserve to receive zakat. The Holy Quran clearly mentions them and the Muslim scholars explain them in full.

The five pillars of Islam

Kids should be trained to fast Ramadan:

   The Arabic and Quran teacher teaches their students that the fourth pillar of Islam is to go fasting. Muslims fast  during the daytime of the ninth lunar month of Ramadan. Kids who attend the online Arabic and Quran courses learn fasting. It  is to abstain from having food, drinks, etc. This continues  from dawn to sunset. However, a Muslim can enjoy their usual daily routine and habits. They can do this from sunset to dawn again. The kids learn Arabic and Quran online. They should know about the lunar month of Ramadan. It  doesn’t have a fixed time every year. So fasting days vary and change every year. Also, students doing online Arabic and Quran courses should know that a lunar month can be twenty-nine or thirty days.  No month can be more or no less. The end of the fasting month is celebrated with a feast. They call it  Eid Ul-fitr . It is a time of joy eating and drinking.

the five pillars of Islam

The fifth pillar of Islam :

Kids, who learn Arabic and Quran online, should know something about pilgrimage. During their Arabic and Quran courses, kids learn that pilgrimage is the fifth pillar of Islam. An Arabic and Quran teacher teaches the kids that pilgrimage is to visit Makkah at a certain time with the aim of doing some certain religious rituals as a kind of worship. Kids who learn Arabic and Quran online know that pilgrimage is obligatory only for the Muslims who are physically and financially capable of performing this journey and ritual. A capable Muslim must perform Hajj only once a lifetime at least. To do pilgrimage, a Muslim must enter a state of Ihram, which means to be physically and spiritually ready to perform the rituals. Male Muslims wear certain unsewn two pieces of white cloth. Female Muslims practice their Hajj in their usual and ordinary well-covering clothes, out of which only a woman’s hands and face are only seen. It is important to note that a pilgrim female mustn’t cover her face during al-Hajj.

the five pillars of Islam

How, when and where does pilgrimage take place ?

  Kids, who do online Arabic and Quran courses, learn that Pilgrimage takes place on the ninth, tenth, eleventh, twelfth and thirteenth of Dhul-Hijjah, the twelfth and last month on the Muslim lunar and Hijri calendar. Kids, who learn Arabic and Quran online, learn that at the beginning of Hajj, Muslims go to Makkah to orbit al-Kaaba to perform Tawaf al-Qudum, as a way of greeting the Holy Shrine. Then, most Muslims go to the area of Mina to spend the day of Tarwyya in preparation for the Hajj. Kids who do Arabic and Quran courses online should know that this is optional for them. The most important day of al-Hajj is the ninth of Dhul-Hijjah, when pilgrims spend the day at the area till sunset. From there, pilgrims head for al-Muzdalifah. At Muzdalifa, pilgrims collect the pebbles, tiny stones, getting ready for pelting the Jamarat at Mina the following day. The kids who study Arabic and Quran online learn that Jamarat are three stone posts representing Satan, Ash-Shaitan. This act represents the complete submission and obedience of Muslims to Allah.

Kids learn more details about pilgrimage:

      Kids who do Arabic and Quran courses online learn that: Having done so, a male pilgrim can shave the hair off his head or just cut it short. Female pilgrims can only trim the end of their hair locks. At this stage a pilgrim can end their state of Ihram, returning to their usual daily routine. Kids, who study Arabic and Quran online, know that finally, a pilgrim performs Tawaf al-Ifadah which ends the actions of pilgrimage. However, pilgrims return to spend two or three extra days pelting al-Jamarat.


      The E-aalim have made and produced this subject-matter in the form of short and swift questions and answers to help the blooming young Muslim kids,who do online Arabic and Quran courses,  learn, know and understand the details of their religion is the simplest and easiest way. This effort is available as PDF or printed short booklets. Hopefully such books attain the satisfaction of our dear junior and adult students.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest
Previous slide
Next slide